Taplink vs Blinq, Popl and HiHello: which suits a South African team?
Blinq, Popl and HiHello are international digital business card apps, priced in US dollars, mostly per user per month, with strong CRM integrations. Taplink is South African: it is priced in rand, includes the physical NFC and QR card in a one-off price plus R90 per card a year, and is supported locally, but it does not integrate with CRMs or Apple and Google Wallet. Choose Taplink for a rand-priced team rollout with branded physical cards; choose an international app if syncing leads into your CRM is essential.
Last reviewed: 7 October 2026. Competitor facts are taken from each company's own site on that date.
Side by side
Team plans only. Competitor prices are shown in US dollars, as published. Taplink prices include VAT.
| Taplink | Blinq | Popl | HiHello | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Team pricing | R399 per card once for 10 to 49 cards, down to R249 from 250, plus R90 per card a year | US$4.99 per user a month billed yearly, or US$6.99 billed monthly | Not published; quoted after a demo, with no per-user charge | US$5 per user a month (US$60 a year) for 5 to 100 users |
| Currency | South African rand | US dollars | Not published | US dollars |
| Physical NFC card | Included in the card price, branded, with NFC and a QR code | Sold separately, from US$24.99 per card | NFC accessories available; price not published | Not sold; you program your own NFC tag |
| Minimum team | 10 cards | 5 cards | Not stated on their site | 5 users |
| Admin portal for teams | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Lead capture | Yes, with a consent box and a consent timestamp | Yes | Yes | Yes, with a consent form |
| Lead export to a spreadsheet | Yes, CSV | Yes, CSV | Yes, CSV | Not stated on their site |
| CRM integration | No | Yes: Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Pipedrive, Zoho, and Zapier | Yes: Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics, Zoho and others | Yes: Salesforce, HubSpot and Microsoft Dynamics 365 |
| Apple and Google Wallet | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Privacy stated on their site | Privacy policy written under POPIA, with a named Information Officer | GDPR and SOC 2 Type II; hosted on Google Cloud | GDPR and SOC 2 Type 2; hosted in the United States | GDPR-ready and SOC 2 Type II; hosted on Google Cloud in the United States |
| POPIA mentioned | Yes | Not found on their site | Not found on their site | Not found on their site |
| South African presence | Based in Randburg, Gauteng, with a local phone line | None found on their site | None found on their site | None found on their site |
When Taplink is the better fit
- You want every person to carry a branded physical card, without buying cards separately.
- You want to pay in rand, with no monthly subscription per user and no exposure to the exchange rate.
- You want a supplier you can phone in South Africa, who designs, prints and ships the cards to your company.
- Your leads are fine arriving by email and exporting to a spreadsheet.
When an international app is the better fit
- Leads must flow straight into Salesforce, HubSpot or another CRM.
- Your team wants cards in Apple Wallet or Google Wallet.
- You do not need a physical card at all, only a digital one.
- Your team is smaller than 10 people.
Comparing on cost? Our Taplink vs paper cost comparison shows what a team of 10, 50 or 100 pays over three years.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between Taplink and Blinq, Popl or HiHello?
How you pay and what is included. Blinq and HiHello publish subscriptions in US dollars per user per month, and Popl quotes after a demo. Taplink is South African and priced in rand: a one-off price per card that includes the physical NFC and QR card, plus R90 per card a year for hosting and the admin portal.
Which should I choose if I need CRM integration?
One of the international apps. Blinq, Popl and HiHello all list integrations with CRMs such as Salesforce and HubSpot. Taplink does not integrate with any CRM today: captured leads arrive by email and export to a spreadsheet.
Do Blinq, Popl and HiHello include a physical NFC card?
Not in the subscription. Blinq sells NFC cards separately, from US$24.99 per card. Popl offers NFC accessories but does not publish their price. HiHello does not sell NFC products, and says you can program your own tag. Every Taplink card is a branded NFC and QR card, included in the one-off price.
Do they mention POPIA?
We found no mention of POPIA, South Africa's Protection of Personal Information Act, on the Blinq, Popl or HiHello sites we checked. Each describes GDPR and SOC 2 compliance instead. Taplink's privacy policy is written under POPIA and names an Information Officer, and every captured lead is stored with the time the person gave consent.
Does Taplink work with Apple Wallet or Google Wallet?
No, not today. Blinq, Popl and HiHello all offer wallet passes. A Taplink profile opens in the phone's browser from a tap or a scan, and the contact saves to the phone in one tap.
Sources, checked 7 October 2026
Facts about each company come only from its own website. Prices and features change, so check their current pages before deciding. "Not stated" or "not found" means we could not find it on the pages below, not that it does not exist.
- Blinq: blinq.me/pricing, blinq.me/nfc-business-card, blinq.me/integrations, blinq.me/security
- Popl: popl.co/pages/pricing, support.popl.co (team and accessory help articles), privacy.popl.co
- HiHello: hihello.com/pricing, hihello.com/features/nfc-business-cards, hihello.com/features/user-management-integrations, hihello.com/security
- Taplink: our published pricing on the home page and our privacy policy
Branded cards for your team, priced in rand
Tell us how many people need cards and we will confirm your per-card price within one business day.
Request a quote